U.S virgin islands

The U.S. Virgin Islands is an unincorporated organized territory of the United States of America between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, east of Puerto Rico. It was formerly known as the Danish West Indies.

There are three main islands:

  • Saint Croix
  • Saint John
  • Saint Thomas

Subtropical, tempered by easterly trade winds, relatively low humidity, little seasonal temperature variation; rainy season May to November. Has experienced several hurricanes in recent years as well as frequent and severe droughts and floods.


Three of the four U.S. Virgin Islands have nicknames often used by locals. St. Thomas - "Rock City", St. John - "Love City", and St. Croix - "Twin City"


St. Thomas, the quintessential cruise port, is the bustling busy bee of the trio. In addition to its natural charms, St. Thomas is also a duty-free shopping mecca.


St. John is the natural one: Two-thirds of the island is a national park.St. Croix is an island on the move. Its history of agriculture has left sugar mills and plantations to visit, and there is an ever-increasing number of heritage trails to follow.

Copyright © 2011 Carribeanforvacation.com All Rights Reserved